Why I am single

My mother thinks I’m turning into a spinster. She is convinced if I don’t find a man, and soon, I will forever be both alone and miserable. I, on the other hand, seriously doubt that this doom and gloom prediction will be my life after Princess Girl goes away to college. I like my own company and I have lots of hobbies. Even if I am alone, at least I won’t be miserable.

But, I see her point. Dinner and a movie, even occasionally, and someone to share inside jokes with wouldn’t be amiss. Someone to keep my toes warm in bed on cold winter nights would be a bonus.

It’s not like I don’t put myself out there. It’s not that I’m not getting asked out. It’s the simple fact that at this point in my life I am picky. And have a certain set of standards that I’m not willing to waver on.

The first four are easy. And it’s a firm list:

1. Valid Driver’s license

2. Job (although tougher in this economy I’m sticking with it) 

3. Don’t live with your Mom 

4. Not married

This last one is surprisingly tougher to meet than you would think. A couple months back I was asked out by three different married men in a two week time span. All three of them knew that I knew they were married. Not really sure what’s up with that…

Once you get past the initial list, however, there are still standards to be met. If your best pick-up line is to attempt to pull out the collar of my shirt while I’m standing near you so you can get a sneak peek at what I’ve got to offer, you can just move along. If your smiling invitation to join your conversation is missing 6-8 of your front teeth, I’m going to keep walking.

 

It was an interesting weekend…still single.

Amy

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Wulfgar said,

    “This last one is surprisingly tougher to meet than you would think. A couple months back I was asked out by three different married men in a two week time span. All three of them knew that I knew they were married. Not really sure what’s up with that…”

    Coming from a Husband, Father of two girls; Men are pigs!
    Good luck to you, and keep your standards up, you’ll find your knight.
    Peace,


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

