Peril the First

rip4300I read about the spooky fall challenge being offered by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings last week on literatehousewife. The minute I read Jennifer’s explanation of R.I.P I knew it was a challenge in which I needed to participate. I love (love, Love, LOVE) reading horror. And mystery. And suspense.  And the button is really cool, too.

Here are Carl’s rules:

“There are two simple goals to the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Challenge: Have fun reading and share that fun with others.”

You can join simply by agreeing to read one, two, or four books during the two months from among the following genres:

  • Mystery
  • Suspense
  • Thriller
  • Dark fantasy
  • Gothic
  • Horror
  • Supernatural

When I say this challenge was custom made for me; I’m not kidding. My goal is to complete Peril the First and read four books from any of the subgenres. We are barely through the first week in September and I already have one under my belt. The rest should be a piece of cake!

rip4first

I just finished My Wicked Enemy by Carolyn Jewel. So that is one down. This one falls into the category of Supernatural. I had already planned on following up my early August read of Dracula with Dracula’s Guest by Bram Stoker. We’ll count that one as number two and place it in the Horror section. Number three on my list will be Paranoia by Joseph Finder. Amazon describes it as both a Thriller and Suspense. I will round out my selections with either Woman in White by Wilkie Collins or The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe. Both of these are Gothic classics of which I have heard good things and not yet read.

If I have any time left before the end of October, I would love to add another Lara Adrian novel to the list. We’ll see. If I don’t watch the length of my reading list I won’t have any time to blog! In the mean time, please feel free to join me in my fright fest of reading. Let me know if you decide to come along!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

