A funny thing happened on my way to this blog.

Seated man reading a book

Image by National Media Museum via Flickr

When I started this blog I jumped right in with both feet. There was no trial period of writing unpublished posts for a week or two. There was no planning of subject matter. Much thought went into finding a blog name that was just right, but after that it has all been off the cuff. I’ve been flying by the seat of my pant here, folks, in case you hadn’t figured that out yet. So far, I’m still holding my head above water. At least I think so.

That is not to say that I have been flying blind. This is not my first foray into writing. Even if you don’t spend any time writing for fun – fun or need or passion –  four years of college will lay a foundation of the need to research. If you do spend any personal time writing you will know that research is inherent in the ability to put your thoughts coherently on paper.

The majority of my time researching for this blog has been spent on the internet. I have talked to various people about the blogs they read and what types of blogs interest them. But mostly I surfed. I love (love, LOVE) the tag surfer feature of WordPress. This allows me to read the most current entry of any WordPress blog where the author has used the same tags I have used on my posts. This is a great first dip into many different blogs without having to read in depth on each one. On the other hand, when a post strikes me with the author’s humor or writing style or content I am able to go directly to their blog and read more. Inevitably, blogs that I enjoy and put in my feed reader lead to other blogs to enjoy. You have to check out who the people you are reading are reading.

One side benefit that has happened through finding all these new blogs by people who write about the same things I write about is I have found websites that cater to my interests I did not know about before. Through my blog reading and research I have found Toasted-Cheese.com (you can count on more on this one later) and LibraryThing.com. I have not had time to list my entire book collection on LibraryThing.com yet. Well, I’ve had time, but I’ve been using it to write. One of the first things I did make the time for was to join their Early Reviewers group. Publishers use members of the LTER (Library Thing Early Reviewers) group to read soon to be released books and post reviews of them on the internet to drum up interest in their upcoming books. How exciting for a bookie like me! Hey, get your mind out of the gutter. I’m not gambling here. I read. You know like people who are way into food are foodies? Cut me some slack here. I already told you this is off the cuff.

Want to know what is even cooler than finding the LTER? I was selected to review one of the books listed for August! I received it a couple weeks ago. Since I’m a one book at a time kind of girl I had to wait until I finished my current read to start it. But, I’ve finished it now and I’ll be posting my review later this week.

I’m showing my true geek colors now, I know, but I’m just so danged excited about winning this book to review.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    RobD said,

    Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂 🙂

  2. 2

    BloggerDude said,

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

  3. 4

    Hi,

    thanks for the great quality of your blog, every time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

