Great Expectations

woman-writing-letterStarting Tuesday the activity level in our house will decrease dramatically. Princess Girl will be on bed rest for a week after her surgery. If all goes as it did with the surgery on her left ankle, she will be non-weight bearing for an additional two weeks. Then she will go into a walking boot.

This means no cheerleading. This means no basketball. No after school practices. No out of town games. I am not sure how we will fill our time without wanting to kill each other. Actually, that is not true. We survived this once. We can easily survive it again.

Princess Girl is already compiling her reading list. And we’ll break out the video games. She is not much of a gamer, but she does enjoy them when she’s on the injured reserve list.

I have high hopes for this activity reprieve. Over the last several months I have fallen off the exercise wagon. I’m hopeful this time at home will give me time to get back into an exercise routine. Although PG says I can’t do it while she is around. She will get jealous. And, with all this extra time in the evenings, I think I have decided to participate in NaNoWriMo again.

I have successfully participated in NaNoWriMo twice. And enjoyed every minute of it. With a full time job and a full time kid, though, it is hard to squeeze that writing time in. This extra time should work perfectly.

Now I just have to get over that nagging voice in my head telling me it’s hopeless. I don’t have it in me to write 50,000 a third time. There’s no reason to even try. If I could decide on a story or plot line that would help.

Ah, I’ve still got a week.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Great Expectations (aseeofgreen.wordpress.com) […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

