24 Bones by Michael F. Stewart

24_bones_coverAnother LibraryThing score! I received 24 Bones as an eBook from the author as a Member Giveaway, with a request for a review.

I did not think receiving this novel as an eBook would pose a problem for me. I love my Kindle and read 98% of my books on it now. And the author sent the novel in several electronic formats. The issue was not with the author, or the delivery of the eBook. The problem arose in the fact that I have not experimented with uploading my own content to my Kindle yet. I have had plenty to read for free or cheap directly from Amazon to have a need at this point. That left me reading it on my PC. Lucky for me, it was a fast paced story and a quick read.

I read the entire novel on a Sunday afternoon.

24 Bones is the story of two rival religions and their clash with each other and with Christianity. The two main characters, Tagg and Sam, are on opposite side in the fight between good and evil. The novel starts with a failed ritualistic baptism of a child into an Egyptian cult. And the action doesn’t slow down from there to the very last page.

I really enjoyed the story line of this novel. I have always been intrigued by Egyptian history. I’m fascinated by the pyramids. Stewart’s view of the modernizing of these ancient religions was believable to the end.

My problem with this book is the character development. Or lack thereof. By the end of the book I did not feel like I really had a good take on the motivation of either of the main characters. I did not feel their passion. I did not know them as people. The book was relatively short and a very fast read. In each scene, I kept thinking that I wished he would have provided more insight into the characters themselves as well as he had drawn the action.

Overall I give it 3 ½ stars out of 5.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

