Once Upon a Time IV

It is official, I am joining the Once Upon a Time IV reading challenge! I thoroughly enjoyed participating in the RIP IV challenge this past fall. Carl is a magnificent host and introduced me to a wonderful artist in Jennifer Gordon.

This new challenge looks to be just as inspiring, and once again he has introduced me to a new artist, Melissa Nucera. I can feel a shopping spree coming on already. The requirements for the challenge allow for a wide variety of schedules and reading habits. I haven’t decided yet if I will do Quest the First:

Read at least 5 books that fit somewhere within the Once Upon a Time IV criteria. They might all be fantasy, or folklore, or fairy tales, or mythology…or your five books might be a combination from the four genres.

or Quest the Second:

Read at least one book from each of the four categories. In this quest you will be reading 4 books total: one fantasy, one folklore, one fairy tale, and one mythology. This proves to be one of the more difficult quests each year merely because of the need to classify each read and determine which books fit into which category. I am not a stickler, fear not, but I am endlessly fascinated watching how folks work to find books for each category.

I have already started my reading lists, and completed a few! (I’m such an over achiever!)

I started with Snow-Glass-Apples a short story by Neil Gaiman. This is an amazing short story about  Snow White from the step-mother’s perspective. I think I want Princess Girl to perform this for Speech Team next year. I also completed, yesterday, a re-read of The Wizard of Oz (the first book). I read the entire series, yes there is a 14 book series of OZ, when I was a kid. Re-reading this one has only whetted my appetite for the rest of them.

Others on my list include:

Throne of Jade by Naomi Novik, I’ve already read His Majesty’s Dragon

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman – I’m starting this one first. I have heard so much about Neil Gaiman’s solo work, and I LOVED Good Omens.

This spring is shaping up to be full of fairy and folklore – I can’t wait! Please feel free to join me.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Once Upon a Time IV March 2010 3 […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

