The place to be.

A typical Wal-Mart discount department store i...

Image via Wikipedia

I know I have mentioned before that I live in a very small town. We have a gas station and a dollar store. And five bars . But no where local to get groceries. Fortunately, there are several grocery/shopping options not too far from home.

It takes about 11 minutes to get to the new Walmart. And Jewel/Osco is just across the street if you want to spend three times as much on the same items. Hy-vee is a few minutes farther down the road if you prefer to split the difference.

Me, I’m a Walmart girl.

My usual weekly grocery shopping has occurred on Sunday afternoons (after cheer practice) for the last couple of years. But Princess Girl does not have cheer on Sunday afternoons any more. And with other schedule changes this weekend I found myself making my weekly shopping trip on Sunday morning. Little did I know, this  is when EVERYONE from my small town does their Walmart shopping.

As soon as I walked in the door I saw Lori – J’s mom. She was a ways down the aisle and did not see me. Shortly after that I saw Mrs. M – the grandmother of one of Princess Girl’s friends (and I went to school with the girl’s parents). We smiled at each other in passing. Next was Scott – a high school classmate of mine – and his two adorable little ones. The curls on that little girl, holy cow! We gave a quick ‘hey how’s it going’ as we passed by. A little further on in my shopping adventure I saw Mr. B. I didn’t expect him to say anything; he never did while teaching us math in junior high. (Seriously, how do you teach math if you don’t speak?) Then there was Megan (with her mom and brother) – classmate and friend of Princess Girl. Again we smiled and did the quick greeting as we went in different directions through the store. And finally I saw Emily – Princess Girl’s first cheer ‘big sister’ and friend. As always she had a big smile and a friendly greeting.

You may be thinking, that is only six people. Not that many in the scheme of ‘it’s a small world after all’. And you’d probably be right except I was only in the store for 10 minutes. Seriously. Our list this week was very short. I only picked up shampoo, pop and lime away. Three items. That is two people for every item in my cart.

Walmart. Sunday mornings. The place to be.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

