Hit List

YAY! Another review for LibraryThing! This time the novel I received (pdf for my Kindle) was Hit List by Darcia Helle.

Product Description from Amazon:

Would you give up your sanity in order to forget?

Sanity is not something you lose, like your car keys or that elusive sock in the dryer. That’s what Ian believed before his mother stepped over the edge from sane to crazy.

No one is able to give Ian a reasonable explanation. Corinne suffers from severe memory loss, odd behavior, and paranoid delusions. Or at least Ian had been told they were delusions. After all, who would be hiding outside watching his mother? And why?

Ian hires private investigator Lucianna Martel to retrace the events of his mother’s last sane day. During Lucianna’s investigation, she and Ian learn that Corinne may not be so crazy after all.

My Review:

I had requested this book more than a month before I read it. As good as my memory is, I did not remember the synopsis from the LibraryThing Early Reviewer list. So as I started to read it I thought I was going to find an average romance novel. Which isn’t a bad thing, I like romance novels. And with as many novels as are published each year, average is not a bad place to be.

And then the tedium of Luci forcing herself to be “professional” in spite of her attraction to Ian began and I thought it was going to be a slightly-less-than-average romance novel.

Before long, however, we learn that Corrine’s delusions may not just be in her head. The story takes a twist, and then a turn. And we are caught up in what is building into a good detective/suspense story. Luci’s uncle injects both muscle and humor into Luci’s life and the story. And, of course romance builds between Luci and Ian.

This story kept me guessing and caught me off guard with several of the twists and turns it took. I was glad that not everyone had a happy ending. Overall, a great summer read.

I liked it!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

