R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril V!

YAY! It is time once again for Carl’s R.I.P V challenge! Last year was my first year participating in Carl’s R.I.P. challenge and I enjoyed it immensely. Although Fall may not be my favorite season (it does bring winter to us), the spooky, mysterious feel to the season bodes well for some of my favorite genres.

The challenge is to read at least one book from the following genres:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

According to Carl: There are two simple goals for the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril V Challenge:

1. Have fun reading.
2. Share that fun with others.

I of course plan on tackling the Peril the First level of the challenge.

“Read four books, any length, that you feel fits my very broad definition of scary. It could be Stephen King or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Ian Fleming or Edgar Allan Poe…or anyone in between.”

I know my reading list will include:

1. Under the Dome – Stephen King

2. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie – Alan Bradley

3. Her Fearful Symmetry – Audrey Niffenegger

4. Boneshaker – Cherie Priest

I’m sure there will be others. There is some irony in my reading list. Since purchasing my Kindle in May 2009 I have only read one actual paper book (The Historian – Elizabeth Kostova) which I picked up for $5 in Bishop Hill. Yeah, every book on my R.I.P list so far will be actual paper. I own the first three and I already have a hold request at the library for Boneshaker. It will be an adjustment to go back to reading physical books. I already miss my Kindle and I haven’t even started yet!

To top it all off, I may add Short Story Peril as I picked up a collection of Poe at a used book store earlier this year.

What are you waiting for? September is here. Let’s read some scary stuff!

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Carl V. said,

    Thanks for coming back for your second year, it is great to have you once again. Fantastic list of books. A couple of real chunksters there as well, at least with the King book. Hope you have a great time with them.

  2. 2

    It seemed like everyone read Her Fearful Symmetry for last year’s RIP (myself included)–it is a great choice!

  3. 4

    Kate said,

    Great list! Under the Dome made mine too. Alan Bradley’s books are a gas, I can’t get enough of Flavia de Luce. Happy reading to you!

  4. 5

    Kailana said,

    Boneshaker was pretty good. I am looking forward to the sequel. I think it is out soon, actually

  5. 6

    […] R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril V! September 2010 5 comments LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

