A major milestone is fast approaching.

The first car of Benz (1886), Mercedes Doppel-...

Image via Wikipedia

Seven weeks from today my Princess Girl will turn sixteen years old.

.

.

.

Ok, now that we are all revived and back off the floor… Sixteen! She has finals on her birthday for the second year in a row. She is already making plans to get her driver’s license as soon as finals are over. Or in between them if she has a morning break.

Of course, being not quite sixteen she hasn’t yet bothered to ask me if I am willing or able to take time off work so she can obtain her driver’s license on a Wednesday. But I’m working on that as well. I’m a good mom.

Along with a driver’s license, every sixteen, or nearly sixteen, year old dreams of their first car. Like many parents, I have been planning for this for a long time. I bought my car just over 5 years ago with the thought that the timing would be perfect for me to get a new car and her to inherit my old one.

And I was right. My car has just over 150,000 miles on it. Yes, that is over 125,000 in just over five years. I drive a LOT. Perfect for a new driver.

That means, however, that I have to start shopping for a new car. I know, you are thinking ‘and that’s a problem?’. Well, see, I haven’t car shopped in over five years. I haven’t had a car payment in over two years. Car prices have increase sharply in the last five years.

I’m currently panicking over my budget. And I don’t want to compromise on a car either.

In fact, I’m looking at a cross-over so I have more room. What? You think because now she will have her own car I won’t need as much room in mine? Let’s look at this shall we?

1. She’s a brand new driver. At first she’s only going to school and back.

2. I have to ask my parents to borrow or meet me with their truck/suv every time I want to purchase a large item (you know how I go through lawn mowers). And having to ask J is the same as asking them… I’m way too independent for that.

3. (Don’t remind me) She will be going off to college in 2 1/2 years. We are going to need something to haul all her crap in.

Now let’s look at the cons:

1. I get 30 mpg in my car now.

2. Cross-over prices.

Yeah. So I have seven weeks to resolve this dilema and find a vehicle I want and buy it.

Wish me luck!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

