I’m starving!

blood pressure measurement

Image via Wikipedia

We had mandatory health screenings at work today that determine our health insurance premium. I have no problem with this concept at all. It makes sense, especially in health care, to focus on wellness and have incentives for wellness.

What I have a problem with is the required 12 hour fast I had to endure before my blood work could be drawn.

I am STARVING!

Thankfully, now I’m done with the screening and can get something to eat.

On a side note, your blood pressure has to be within a certain range to not qualify as one of the risk factors. This is something I have never had to worry about. In fact, until just a few years ago I bordered on low blood pressure. That was before today, when the nurse tried to cut off the circulation in my arm! She held the cuff so tight for so long I started loosing feeling in my thumb! And she recorded my blood pressure at 134/92.

Whatever.

Fortunately, they let you do two blood pressure readings. So I did my height and weight measurements. I got my blood drawn. And I went back… to the other nurse doing blood pressure. She did not try to cut my arm off with the blood pressure cuff and the reading was 112/78. Normal. Thank you second nurse lady.

And we are done for another year.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

