Medium Dead – a review

YAY! Another LibraryThing early reviewer book! This time I received Medium Dead by Chris Dolley as an ebook.

Summary:

Several years ago, Brenda came home early from work and found her husband in bed with her best friend. Crushed, she divorced her husband, moved back to Ohio from London and took a job as a school secretary. Since then she has been living a dull, boring existence, except for one thing. Suddenly, she can see dead people. Ignoring the ghosts in her living room, ignoring her mother’s nagging for grandchildren, Brenda is intent on spending her summer quietly reading on her couch and watching soap operas. But then Brian, a self-proclaimed Vigilante Demon, barges into her life. And nothing is quiet.

My review:

This book was a humorous, irreverent romp through a detective story. Brenda is smart and funny. She adapts quickly to the situations Brian throws her into. This was a quick, light summer read. Perfect for the beach. My only issue with it is the ending. It is obvious from the ending this is going to be the first book in a series. There were too many questions throughout the book that were ‘half’ answered in the last chapter. I don’t have a problem with that, but that last chapter or so felt rushed and forced in trying to only half answer those dangling questions.

Overall, I really liked this one.

Thoughts on LibraryThing Early Reviewer program:

I am not a book blogger. I am an avid reader who blogs mostly regularly. I do not solicit books from publishers for review (although I will sign up for contests to win free books with no review tied to them). I do not review every book I read. That being said, I love the LibraryThing Early Reviewer program. It exposes me to books and authors I might not have found on my own. And I’ve gotten to read some books outside my normal reading area.

Overall, I have ‘won’ 9 books for review since 2009. Of those I have actually received and reviewed 8. And luckily for me, I have liked them all! I can’t wait to see what I might receive next!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

