For future reference…

English: Symbol meaning that it is advised to ...

English: Symbol meaning that it is advised to read some articles first for a better understanding. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I make a comment recommending a change to a process, and I then say to you that I do not believe you are understanding the scenario I am referring to, do NOT respond with “Yes I do.”

Umm, hello, I am the one that knows what I am attempting to say. If I can tell by your response that I did not do a good job of articulating my point because your answer does not match my original point then you do NOT understand my point.

By saying that, I am not saying you are stupid. I am not saying you are not capable of understanding. I am saying that I did not do a good job of describing the scenario. If you would shut up long enough to let me rephrase my statement instead of solving what you heard with my original statement we might accomplish something fantastic.

Instead, you got huffy. You negated what I had to say. You said it did not matter. You refused to listen.

You created a bad working environment.

Unfortunately, this is becoming a more frequent occurrence with you. I now no longer respect you as a colleague.

That’s going to end up having long term consequences.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

