Welcome to the jungle

Photo of an English lawn taken on 16 July 2007...

Photo of an English lawn taken on 16 July 2007 – the area on the left was mowed twice in 2007 and the area on the right had not been mowed in 2007. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

No, my yard does not look like a jungle because I have broken yet more lawn care equipment… Although there is still quite a bit of summer left, so don’t despair on that front just yet. The real problem? Well, my friends, that is two-fold.

On the one hand, it is mid July in the Midwest. This means temps are soaring. And heat indexes are rising into the triple digits nearly every day. Don’t get me wrong. I love summer. I love the sunshine. I much prefer these high temps to the winter alternative.

That does not mean I choose to pull weeds in this weather. Hello, this is mid July in the Midwest. My grass is supposed to be brown. If my flowers won’t grow without watering, the weeds shouldn’t either. (Tell that to the weeds in both the yard and flower beds.)

On the other hand, we have been busy! Of course, you say, we are always busy. And this is true. However, with work and Princess Girl’s new job(!) and her volunteer time at the zoo and cheer and baby showers and and and… I have gone over 5 weeks now with not having a single day that I was able to not have to set my alarm clock. Not one single day.

And I’m sorry, it is summer. If we have a free minute and the choices are lawn care or spending time on the boat on the river, boat and river win. Hands down. Every time.

So I’m not going to win any beautiful lawn contests. But I am enjoying what free time I have in this intense heat the best way I know how. Besides, it is just about to the point of being unbearable for me to look at and I’ll have to take care of it soon anyway. Might as well make the best of summer until then. And after!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

